Introduction
Searching clip (subtitles in English)
You can use the HANQuest search engine on the HAN Study Centre website to search for results. This website also contains links to several databases. Below you will find several informative videos about using the HANQuest search engine and the available databases.
HANQuest allows you to search a large number of sources available via the Study Centre. You can conduct a general search or a discipline-specific search.
Watch the informative video below for more information about HANQuest.
Video HAN Quest ( subtitles in English)
Click here for more practical search tips and specific search commands in HANQuest.
HAN Catalog
HANQuest includes the HAN catalog with the search, but you can also search the HAN catalog separately. The knowledge clip below will give you more information about the catalog.
Video HAN catalogue (subtitles in English)
Selection Databases HAN
An overview of databases for Technology that are not searched by HANQuest can be found in this libguide
General search engines
Google and Google Scholar.
Google Scholar makes a pre-selection of scientific information.
Practical tips on searching with Google and Google Scholar can be found in this libguide.
DuckDuckGo
DuckDuckGo is a privacy friendly search engine that differs from Google, Bing and Yahoo in that it allows anonymous searching. Duckduckgo does not keep a profile of your searches.
Startpage.com
Startpage is also a privacy-friendly search engine. This search engine lets you search anonymously without leaving any traces.
Specific search engines
WolframAlpha
WolframAlpha is a web answer engine that does not search for pages like a search engine, but for answers to questions.
Searching for blogs and forums
Blog Search Engine (blogsearchengine.org)
Twingly Blogsearch (twingly.com)
Boardreader ( boardreader.com)
Open Access
More and more digital academic publications are freely accessible online, it is still common that you have to pay a relatively high amount to read a digital article.
The HAN Study Centres offer the browser extension Lean Library. With Lean Library you can easily access online content from home. When you arrive at a webpage of a publisher to which the HAN has access via one of the databases, the user receives a notification.
This is particularly useful when searching via Google.
The browser extension can be used in Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera, MS Edge and IE11. This guide on full text search and the Study Centers website tell you how to install the extension.
The Dutch Royal Library has compiled a list of Open Access tips ( in Dutch). Several databases mentioned in these tips can also be accessed through the HAN Study Centers website.